Giving Up The Spotlight

Maybe I Could Have Persevered Just A Little Longer

Sogen Ohata
3 min readAug 24, 2021
Photo by Kazuo ota on Unsplash

My mother and I sat, the lights dimmed, and came a few seconds of complete silence. The musicians, all wearing black attires, began walking in. It seemed like they were in the space of untouchable holiness. Rounds of applause quickly surrounded the auditorium as the musicians began tuning their instruments.

The concert began, and I was instantly mesmerized. Mesmerized by the entire ritual, music, style. I was six.

Never able to forget that overwhelming feeling of exhilaration, I persuaded my parents for two whole years to learn the violin. At last, at the age of eight, I took my first private lesson.

My deep-rooted motivation for excellence helped. I received the highest grade score for the Suzuki examination grade one. In grade nine, I was admitted to the advanced orchestra in school, while most others only did so in grade ten or eleven.

When I practice, I imagine being the first chair. What is it like to be the first chair? What does s/he think? What is it like to be under that spotlight?

And while I did get into the advanced orchestra, I was still miles away from being in that spotlight that only allows one person to shine. I wondered, would I ever be one of the likes of Sarah Chang and Ray…

--

--

Sogen Ohata

A mix of Japan & Taiwan. I write about tips on living a simpler life and gaining mental clarity. For collaboration, please contact: sogennegos@gmail.com